Department of Political Science

About the Department

The department of Political Science, Debra Thana Sahid Kshudiram Smriti Mahavidyalaya, established in 2012, stands for a symbol of excellence with its infrastructure and facilities. The Honours curriculum was introduced in the department in 2013. Since then ample study-material provided to the students have enabled the department to maintain a consistent record of academic success over the years. The departmental library gives them easy access to books for reference purposes. Students in the department are motivated to pursue higher studies to enhance their knowledge and expertise. They are also motivated to compete in various national and state-level administrative examinations. With this aim in mind, the departmental teachers organize inter-disciplinary classes, interactive sessions, power-point presentations through which the students can get a broader perspective of the latest socio-political developments.

Date Of Initiation Of The Department: 2012

Programme Offered:

  • B.A. Hons in Political Science (Since 2013)
  • B.A. General in Political Science (Since 2012)

Details of Programs Offered by the Department:

Program Level Under Graduate
Duration in Months 48
Eligibility Download
Medium of Instruction Bengali, English
Course structure According to the CBCS system under VU
Student sanctioned Strength Download

Course Structure Click here »

Program-Specific Outcome & Course Outcome

PSO & CO of Political Science Hons PSO & CO of Political Science General


107 May 2024Routine of Even SemesterDownload


107 May 2024MDC & VACDownload
207 May 2024Syllabus , Political Science 3 YearDownload
307 May 2024Syllabus , Political Science 4 YearDownload

Results (Last 5 years)

YearAppearedPassedPass Percentage

Infrastructure Available In The Department:

Total number of ICT enables classrooms 01
Total Number of classrooms 03
Total number of Books in Seminar Library 131

Our Staff

Dr. Mithun Banerjee
Assistant Professor & Head
M.A., Ph.D.
Poulami Das
State Aided College Teacher (SACT)
M.A., B.Ed, M.Phil
Bishwanath Das
State Aided College Teacher (SACT)
M.A., M.Phil
Souvik Manna
State Aided College Teacher (SACT)
M.A., M.Phil